Cart 0
Leon Keys - EP [FLAC Download]

Lee Pardini

Leon Keys - EP [FLAC Download]

$ 4.99

After the release of Homebodies, Lee Pardini wanted to try something entirely different. It was simple really. With this EP, Pardini crafted these songs and beats at his home studio just to have fun and quickly found joy in this process. That’s exactly what became the central feeling or purpose of this music; joy, good vibes, good times. The music started to remind him of California, specifically summertime, driving down the coast with the top down. It was all probably a response to the bleak state of world affairs, but nonetheless Pardini wanted to make something funky that could get the party started. 

Influences for this project are wide-ranging, but all share the common thread of grooviness. For the past few years, I have been exploring a lot of Japanese electronic music. Artists like Ryuichi Sakamoto, Haruomi Hosono, and the Yellow Magic Orchestra were heavy influences. Giorgio Moroder and Genesis were influential, as were Chic and Stuff. I wanted to make music that made me feel the way I do when I listen to my favorite band of all time, Earth Wind and Fire. And lastly, I can’t understate the importance of Prince on this project. To me, Prince’s music, especially his prolific mid-eighties period, is a deep well that reveals new things with every listen. He set a standard of funkiness that may be impossible to reach, but I had a hell of a lot of fun trying. Ultimately, with this EP I wanted to showcase another side of myself and do something completely different from the music on Homebodies. (Lee Pardini, 2022.) 

  1. Theme from “Lou” 
  2. Leon Keys (feat. Theo Katzman & Joe Dart)
  3. 158 and Riverside (feat. Sam Ryder & Joe Dart)

Share this Product

Join the GroundUP Music email list.

  • american express
  • apple pay
  • discover
  • google pay
  • master
  • paypal
  • venmo
  • visa