Cart 0
Tigre [CD]

Banda Magda

Tigre [CD]

$ 11.99

The lightbulb went on. Composer, multi-instrumentalist, and firecracker performer Magda Giannikou suddenly understood: The world needed more light, and she was determined to bring it.

That spark of insight, nurtured by a diverse, close-knit band, grew into the rainbow-bold meditations on courage, confidence, and resisting fear on Tigre, the band’s third, wildly cinematic album. (September 15, 2017; Verve Label Group) A rallying cry to speak up and stand out, the album presents Giannikou’s most coherent and brightly orchestrated work to date.

Luxuriant string sections and punches of brass, hammered dulcimer and tubular bells, meet maracatu and forro rhythms. Giannikou sings her tales in whatever language feels right, be it French, Greek, Spanish, or Portuguese. The polyglot, global influences meld, however, into breathtaking flights of fancy. “I’ve been surrounded by people from all over the world, my bandmates and collaborators,” says Giannikou. “And the community we have built feels like a rocket of courage.” On Tigre, that rocket growls to new heights of lush, unstoppable boldness.

Track Listing:

1. Tam Tam
2. Coração
3. Ase Me Na Bo - Overture
4. Ase Me Na Bo
5. Muchacha (Ojos de Papel)
6. Vem Morena
7. Chanson Lev
8. Reine de Bois
9. Le Tigre Malin - Narration
10. Le Tigre Malin
11. Le Tigre Malin - Reprise
12. Venin
13. Thiamandi

Share this Product

Join the GroundUP Music email list.

  • american express
  • apple pay
  • discover
  • google pay
  • master
  • paypal
  • venmo
  • visa